Meet your new Executive Committee!

Hello all,

Our Havering Young Labour AGM was last month, and at this meeting the new Executive Committee was elected! We set out to be the voice for young people in Havering, creating campaigns centred around issues that affect young people living in the borough. We will organise and host events, including guest speakers and socials too.  Details of all campaigns and events will be circulated via email by your youth officers: Hannah for Romford young labour members, Ramota for Hornchurch & Upminster and  Fay for Dagenham & Rainham. We very much look forward to a productive year ahead!


Chair – Hannah Dixon

screenshot_20170118-230221-2

Hey, I’m Hannah and I’m very pleased to be elected chair of HYL. I co-founded the group back in autumn 2015, with the aims to create events and campaigns for young labour members in the area, as there wasn’t a local young labour group already in place. After a year and a half, I believed that HYL would benefit from becoming an official group, with an Executive Committee building on the events and campaign work we had already started.

I am in my second year of being the youth officer for Romford CLP. I’ve campaigned for the 2015 general election, the London mayor and GLA elections and most recently the EU referendum.

Outside of politics I am in the final year of my History of Art degree – I have a particular interest in architecture and post-war housing estates. I am a student ambassador who works in education and widening participation (aiming to get more students from state schools into the normally shut-off world of history of art). I’m a big believer that education, especially uni, should be accessible to everyone – the opportunities given to you and the quality of education you receive shouldn’t be different depending on how much money your parents earn. That’s why I’ve created a Havering Young Labour workshop plan to take to sixth forms in Havering, it’s based on how to form local and national campaigns through grassroots movements.

Other issues I feel strongly about are: the need for more social housing, improving mental health services and saving the NHS.


Secretary and Campaigns Officer – Sam Gould

sam-leaflet-edit

I joined the Labour party in 2011 after being interested in politics for as long as I can remember.

I studied politics at the University of Essex, which included a year in Washington DC, although I didn’t really get involved in politics at university and opted to spend most of my time playing lacrosse. Since then I have worked for an anti-racism organisation, a communications agency, an education charity and was Labour’s candidate for Romford at the 2015 general election. I now work for a Labour MP and am also Romford Labour’s Campaign Officer

Outside of politics I am a governor at my former sixth form, Havering Sixth Form College and am an overly competitive pub quizzer.

Treasurer and Fundraising Officer – Francesco Salau

img_20160412_192150

My name is Francesco Salau. I’ve been a member of Labour since March last year and have been trying to get more involved.

I joined Havering Labour Youth to try to understand and change the lack of political engagement for people my age.

I’m very interested in economics and how it can shape society, and will be studying Political Economy this year. Outside of politics I’m big on electronic music and gaming. I’ll also never say no to some pasta.

 


Women’s Officer – Fay Hough

13043418_10209373915610852_4329754293017220783_n

I’ve been a member of the Labour Party now for nearly 3 years, although I’ve been raised on grass root Labour values all my life and continued to vote Labour since I was eligible to vote.I’m an avid parent campaigner/activist engaging in many local campaigns involving disabilities due to my son being disabled.

In 2016 I was voted in as one of three Youth Officers at Dagenham and Rainham CLP, but I also have a passion for Women’s Political History.

Born and raised in Dagenham, the area has an established history of strong, dedicated women politically involved. Inspired by this I hope to continue championing women locally, and stand united promoting Labour Values.


BAME OfficerRamota Lawal

ramota-tele-lawal-picture

My name is Ramota Lawal, I am 21 and live in Harold Hill. I studied Broadcast Journalism at Nottingham Trent University and I am currently an Account Executive at Chatsworth Communications.

I Joined Labour party last year, after being motivated to take a stance from my fellow course members on the Uprising Leadership program (a nine-month program which will create a social campaign within the community). I chose Labour after reading the manifesto and feeling all the views and aims were aligned with my morals and values. 

I am particularly keen in social politics and my main political interests are improving community cohesion, tackling discrimination, improving educational attainment and providing a voice for all young people. Additionally, I am the Youth Officer for Hornchurch and Upminster CLP.  My other interests are music and fashion.

As your BAME officer, I will be the voice for black, Asian and minority ethnic (BAME) members, and I will champion your issues to the committee.


Under 19s Officer – Lola Fayokun

Bio coming soon!



If you would like to contact us please email haveringyounglabour@outlook.com

Find us on Facebook

And on Twitter

 

 

